Schedule


Unit Date Topic Lab Topic Materials Due
UNIT 1: Mon Jun 29 Data Collection + Observational studies & experiments
Tue Jun 30 Exploratory data analysis (EDA) Lab 1: Introduction to R / Rstudio PS1
Wed Jul 1 EDA, Variability, and Robust Statistics Lab 1
Thu Jul 2 Introduction to Inference via simulation Lab 2: Introduction to Data
Fri Jul 3 NO CLASS – Independence Day 7/4
------- Begin Week 2 --------
UNIT 2: Mon Jul 6 Probability and conditional probability PS2
Tue Jul 7 Normal and binomial distributions Lab 3: Probability Lab 2
Wed Jul 8 Normal distribution practice PS 3
UNIT 3: Thu Jul 9 Variability in estimates and CLT Lab 5: Foundations for inference - Sampling distributions Extra credit lab Normal distributions Lab 3
Fri Jul 10 Confidence intervals and hypothesis tests PS 4
------- Begin Week 3 --------
UNIT 4: Mon Jul 13 Comparing two means
Tue Jul 14 (Unit 3) Decision errors, significance levels, sample size & power Lab 6: Foundations for inference - Confidence intervals PS 5, Lab 5, Extra Credit Lab
Wed Jul 15 Comparing means and T distribution Lab 6
Thu Jul 16 Review / synthesis Lab 7: Inference for numerical variables Bring mid-term questions to Lab!
Fri Jul 17 ANOVA PS 6, Lab 7
------- Begin Week 4 --------
Mon Jul 20 Midterm MT practice problems; Sample MT; Sample MT key
Tue Jul 21 more ANOVA Lab 8: More inference for numerical data
UNIT 5: Wed Jul 22 Inference for proportions Lab 8
Thu Jul 23 Chi-square test for GOF Lab 9: Inference for categorical data PS 7
Fri Jul 24 Chi-square test for independence (slides from yesterday) In-class exercise: chi-square test for independence Lab 9
------- Begin Week 5 --------
UNIT 6: Mon Jul 27 Introduction to simple linear regression
Tue Jul 28 Outliers and inference for regression Lab 10: Introduction to regression
UNIT 7: Wed Jul 29 Introduction to multiple linear regression (MLR) PS 8, Lab 10
Thu Jul 30 Inference for MLR; model selection and diagnostics Lab 11: Multiple linear regression
Fri Jul 31 Confidence and prediction intervals for MLR (Unit 6) PS 9, Lab 11
------- Begin Week 6 --------
Mon Aug 3 Application exercise with MLR PS 10
Tue Aug 4 Bayes' Theorem
Wed Aug 5 Review / synthesis PS 11
Thu Aug 6 Review / synthesis
Fri Aug 7 NO CLASS – Reading day for Final Exam MT2 practice problems; Sample second midterm;
Final Sat Aug 8 Final, 9am-12pm Final practice problems;