Schedule


Week Date Topic Materials Due
Mon, Aug 25 Lab: Get started with R / RStudio + surveys Lab 0
Tue, Aug 26 Introduction + Data collection Lec 0 + Lec 1.1
Thu, Aug 28 Observational studies & experiments Lec 1.2 + App 1.1 + App 1.2 RA 1
Mon, Sep 1 Lab 1: Intro to R / Rstudio Lab 1
Tue, Sep 2 Exploratory data analysis Lec 1.3 + App 1.3 + App 1.4
Thu, Sep 4 Introduction to statistical inference Lec 1.4 + App 1.5 PS 1 (due by class) + PA 1 (due 9/5, 5pm)
Mon, Sep 8 Lab 2: Introduction to data Lab 2 Lab 1
Tue, Sep 9 Probability and conditional probability Lec 2.1 RA 2 [dist]
Thu, Sep 11 Bayes' theorem and Bayesian inference Lec 2.2 + App 2.1 PS 2 (due by class)
Mon, Sep 15 Lab 3: Probability Lab 3 Lab 2
Tue, Sep 16 Normal distribution Lec 2.3 + App 2.2
Thu, Sep 18 Binomial distribution Lec 2.4 + App 2.3 PS 3 (due by class) + PA 2 (due 9/19, 5pm)
Mon, Sep 22 Lab 4: Foundations for inference - Sampling distributions Lab 4 Lab 3
Tue, Sep 23 Variability in estimates and CLT Lec 3.1 RA 3 [dist]
Thu, Sep 25 Confidence intervals and hypothesis tests Lec 3.2 + App 3.1
Mon, Sep 29 Lab 5: Foundations for inference - Confidence intervals Lab 5 Lab 4
Tue, Sep 30 Decision errors, significance levels, sample size & power Lec 3.3 + App 3.2 + App 3.3 PS 4 (due by class)
Thu, Oct 2 Review / synthesis MT1 Review + MT1 Review [Solutions] + Practice Problems + Sample MT1 + Sample MT1 [Solutions] PA 3 (due 10/3, 5pm)
Sun, Oct 5 Midterm review session: 3-4pm, French 2231
Mon, Oct 6 Lab 6: Inference for numerical variables Lab 6 Lab 5
Tue, Oct 7 Midterm 1
Thu, Oct 9 Bootstrap intervals Lec 4.1 + App 4.1
Mon, Oct 13 Fall Break - no lab
Tue, Oct 14 Fall Break - no class
Thu, Oct 16 Comparing means and T distribution Lec 4.2 RA 4 + Project 1 proposal (due in class)
Mon, Oct 20 Lab 7: More inference for numerical data Lab 7 Lab 6
Tue, Oct 21 ANOVA Lec 4.3 + App 4.2 + App 4.3 PS 5 (due by class)
Thu, Oct 23 Single sample proportion Lec 5.1 RA 5 + PA 4 (due 10/24, 5pm)
Mon, Oct 27 Lab 8: Inference for categorical data Lab 8 Lab 7
Tue, Oct 28 Comparing two proportions Lec 5.2 + App 5.1
Thu, Oct 30 Chi-square testing Lec 5.3 + App Ex 5.2 + App Ex 5.3 PS 6 (due by class) + PA 5 (due 10/31, 5pm)
Mon, Nov 3 Lab: Work on Project 1 Lab 8
Tue, Nov 4 Review / synthesis MT2 Review + Practice Problems + Sample MT2 + Sample MT2 [Solutions] Project 1 (due in class)
Thu, Nov 6 Midterm 2
Mon, Nov 10 Lab 9: Introduction to regression Lab 9
Tue, Nov 11 Introduction to regression Lec 6.1 RA 6
Thu, Nov 13 Inference for regression and outliers Lec 6.2 + App 6.1 PS 7 (due by class) + PA 6 (due 11/14, 5pm)
Mon, Nov 17 Lab 10: Multiple linear regression Lab 10 Lab 9
Tue, Nov 18 Introduction to multiple linear regression (MLR) Lec 7.1 RA 7
Thu, Nov 20 More MLR Lec 7.2 + App 7.1
Mon, Nov 24 Lab: Work on Project 2 Lab 10
Tue, Nov 25 Confidence and prediction intervals & transformations Lec 7.3 PS 8 (due by class)
Thu, Nov 27 Thanksgiving Break - no class
Mon, Dec 1 Lab: Project 2 presentations Project 2
Tue, Dec 2 Bayesian vs. frequentist inference Fin Rev 1 PA 7 (due 12/2, 5pm)
Thu, Dec 4 Review / synthesis Fin Rev 2 + Final Review + Final Review [Key]
Sun, Dec 7 Final review session: 2:30-3:30pm, Old Chem 116 Post-test (due 12/8, 5pm)
Wed, Dec 10 Final (7pm-10pm)