Schedule


Week Date Topic Materials Due
Wed, Jan 7 Introduction Deck0
Fri, Jan 9 PA 0 (due at 11:59pm)
UNIT 1:
Week 1 Mon, Jan 12 Data Collection + Observational studies & experiments Deck 1.1 + App Ex 1.1 RA 1
Tues, Jan 13 Lab 1: Introduction to R / Rstudio Lab 1
Wed, Jan 14 Exploratory data analysis Deck 1.2 + App Ex 1.2 + App Ex 1.3 PS 1
Week 2 Mon, Jan 19 No class - Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Tues, Jan 20 Lab 2: Introduction to data Lab 2 Lab 1
Wed, Jan 21 Introduction to statistical inference Deck 1.3 + App Ex 1.4 PS 2
Fri, Jan 23 PA 1 (due at 11:59pm)
UNIT 2:
Week 3 Mon, Jan 26 Probability and conditional probability Deck 2.1 + App Ex 2.1 RA 2
Tues, Jan 27 Lab 3: Probability Lab 3 Lab 2
Wed, Jan 28 Bayes' theorem and Bayesian inference Deck 2.2 + App Ex 2.2 PS 3
Week 4 Mon, Feb 2 Normal distribution Deck 2.3 + App Ex 2.3
Tues, Feb 3 Lab 4: Distributions Lab 4 Lab 3
Wed, Feb 4 Binomial distribution Deck 2.4 + App Ex 2.4 PS 4
Fri, Feb 6 PA 2 (due at 11:59pm)
UNIT 3:
Week 5 Mon, Feb 9 Variability in estimates and CLT Deck 3.1 RA 3 (Covers Unit 3: Part 1-3 videos)
Tues, Feb 10 Lab 5: Foundations for inference - Sampling distributions Lab 5 Lab 4
Wed, Feb 11 Confidence intervals and hypothesis tests Deck 3.2 + App Ex 3.1 + App Ex 3.2 PS 5
Week 6 Mon, Feb 16 Decision errors, significance levels, sample size & power + Review/synthesis Deck 3.3 + App Ex 3.3 PA 3 (due at 11:59pm)
Optional review session: 7-8pm, Gross 103
Tues, Feb 17 Lab 6: Foundations for inference - Confidence intervals Lab 6 Lab 5
Wed, Feb 18 Midterm 1 Review: Practice Problems + Sample MT1 [Key]
UNIT 4:
Week 7 Mon, Feb 23 Bootstrap intervals Deck 4.1 + App Ex 4.1 RA 4 (Covers Unit 4: Part 1-3 videos)
Tues, Feb 24 Lab 7: Inference for numerical variables Lab 7 Lab 6
Wed, Feb 25 Comparing means and T distribution Deck 4.2 + App Ex 4.2 + App Ex 4.3 PS 6
Fri, Feb 27 Project 1 proposal (due at 11:59pm)
Week 8 Mon, Mar 2 ANOVA Deck 4.3 + App Ex 4.4
Tues, Mar 3 Lab 8: More inference for numerical data Lab 8 Lab 7
Wed, Mar 4 ANOVA Deck 4.4 + App Ex 4.5 PS 7
Fri, Mar 6 PA 4 (due at 11:59pm)
SPRING BREAK:
Week 9 Mon, Mar 9 No class - Spring Break
Tues, Mar 10 No class - Spring Break
Wed, Mar 11 No class - Spring Break
UNIT 5:
Week 10 Mon, Mar 16 Single sample proportion Deck 5.1 + App Ex 5.1 RA 5 (Covers Unit 5: Part 1-3 videos)
Tues, Mar 17 Lab 9: Inference for categorical data Lab 9 Lab 8
Wed, Mar 18 Comparing two proportions Deck 5.2 + App Ex 5.2 PS 8
Week 11 Mon, Mar 23 Chi-square testing + Review/synthesis Deck 5.3 + App Ex 5.3 PA 5 (due at 11:59pm)
Optional review session: 7-8pm, Old Chem 116
Tues, Mar 24 Lab: Work on Project 1 Lab 9
Wed, Mar 25 Midterm 2 Review: Practice Problems + Sample MT2 [Key]
Sat, Mar 28 Project 1 (due at 11:59pm)
UNIT 6:
Week 12 Mon, Mar 30 Introduction to regression Deck 6.1 + App Ex 6.1 RA 6
Tues, Mar 31 Lab 10: Introduction to regression Lab 10
Wed, Apr 1 Outliers and inference for regression Deck 6.2 + App Ex 6.2 PS 9
Fri, Apr 3 PA 6 (due at 11:59pm)
UNIT 7:
Week 13 Mon, Apr 6 Introduction to multiple linear regression (MLR) Deck 7.1 + App Ex 7.1 RA 7
Tues, Apr 7 Lab 11: Multiple linear regression Lab 11 Lab 10
Wed, Apr 8 Model selection & diagnostics for MLR Deck 7.2 + App Ex 7.2 PS 10
Week 14 Mon, Apr 13 Confidence and prediction intervals Deck 7.3 + App Ex 7.3
Tues, Apr 14 Lab: Work on Project 2 Lab 11
Wed, Apr 15 Transformations & MLR case study Deck 7.4 + App Ex 7.4 PS 11
Fri, Apr 17 PA 7 (due at 11:59pm)
REVIEW:
Week 15 Mon, Apr 20 Bayesian vs. frequentist inference Fin Rev 1 + App Ex FR.1 + App Ex FR.2
Tues, Apr 21 Lab: Project 2 Presentations Project 2
Wed, Apr 22 Review / synthesis Fin Rev 2
Final Thur, Apr 30 Optional review session (5:30 - 6:30pm, Gross Hall 270)
Sat, May 2 Final, 2-5pm