Course Schedule

This schedule may be updated as the semester progresses.


Week Date Topic HTML Slides PDF Slides Notes Tasks Lab Homework Exam Project
Week 1 Wed, Jan 20 Introduction
Fri, Jan 22 Meet the toolkit
Week 2 Tue, Jan 26 Lab 01: First steps in data science
Wed, Jan 27 Data visualization part I
Fri, Jan 29 Data visualization part II
Homework 1 assigned
Week 3 Tue, Feb 02 Lab 02: Data visualization
Wed, Feb 03 Data wrangling part I
Fri, Feb 05 Data wrangling part II
Homework 2 assigned
Week 4 Tue, Feb 09 Lab 03: Data wrangling
Wed, Feb 10 Spatial data visualization and wrangling
Fri, Feb 12 String manipulation
Week 5 Tue, Feb 16 Lab 04: Spatial data analysis and merge conflicts
Wed, Feb 17 Web scraping
Fri, Feb 19 Code style and the help system
Exam 01 assigned
Week 6 Tue, Feb 23 No lab
Wed, Feb 24 Introduction to probability
Fri, Feb 26 Conditional probability
Homework 3 assigned
Week 7 Tue, Mar 02 Lab 05: Merge conflicts and probability
Wed, Mar 03 Foundations of statistical inference
Fri, Mar 05 Simulation-based inference - confidence intervals
Week 8 Tue, Mar 09 No lab
Wed, Mar 10 No lecture
Fri, Mar 12 Simulation-based inference - hypothesis testing
Week 9 Mon, Mar 15 Project proposal assigned
Tue, Mar 16 Lab 06: Simulation-based inference
Wed, Mar 17 CLT-based inference - confidence intervals
Fri, Mar 19 CLT-based inference - hypothesis testing
Homework 4 assigned
Week 10 Tue, Mar 23 Lab 07: CLT-based inference
Wed, Mar 24 Linear models - simple linear regression
Fri, Mar 26 Linear models - inference
Week 11 Tue, Mar 30 Lab 08: Linear models
Wed, Mar 31 Linear models - multiple regression, model selection
Fri, Apr 02 Linear models - model diagnostics, data partitions
Exam 2 assigned
Week 12 Tue, Apr 06 No lab
Wed, Apr 07 Statistical experience
Fri, Apr 09 Logistic regression
Week 13 Tue, Apr 13 Lab 09: Logistic regression
Wed, Apr 14 Functions
Homework 5 assigned
Fri, Apr 16 Iteration
Week 14 Tue, Apr 20 Project workday
Wed, Apr 21 Shiny
Fri, Apr 23 Project workday