Course Schedule

This schedule may be updated as the semester progresses.


Week Date Topic HTML Slides PDF Slides Rmd Slides Exercises Lab Homework
Week 1 Mon, Aug 17 Welcome and introduction
Wed, Aug 19 Fundamentals of R
Fri, Aug 21 Data types and functions
Week 2 Mon, Aug 24 Lab 01
Wed, Aug 26 Shell and version control
Homework 1 assigned
Fri, Aug 28 Data structures and subsetting
Week 3 Mon, Aug 31 Lab 02
Wed, Sep 02 Subsetting and S3 OO system
Homework 2 assigned
Fri, Sep 04 Data manipulation with dplyr
Week 4 Mon, Sep 07 Lab 03
Wed, Sep 09 Data reshaping with tidyr and functionals with purrr
Homework 3 assigned
Fri, Sep 11 Statistical graphics with ggplot2
Week 5 Mon, Sep 14 Lab 04
Wed, Sep 16 Advanced visualizations
Fri, Sep 18 String manipulation and regexes
Exam 1 data published
Week 6 Mon, Sep 21 Lab 05
Exam 1 tasks assigned
Wed, Sep 23 Spatial data with sf
Fri, Sep 25 Web scraping part I
Week 7 Mon, Sep 28 Lab 06
Wed, Sep 30 Web scraping part II
Fri, Oct 02 Web APIs
Week 8 Mon, Oct 05 Lab 07
Wed, Oct 07 make
Homework 4 assigned
Fri, Oct 09 Shiny part I
Week 9 Mon, Oct 12 Lab 08
Wed, Oct 14 Shiny part II
Fri, Oct 16 Databases and SQL
Exam 2 assigned
Week 10 Mon, Oct 19 Lab 09
Wed, Oct 21 SQL and beyond
Fri, Oct 23 Working with big data
Week 11 Mon, Oct 26 Lab 10
Project assigned
Wed, Oct 28 Parallelization
Homework 5 assigned
Fri, Oct 30 More parallelization and profiling
Week 12 Mon, Nov 02 Lab 11
Wed, Nov 04 Spark & sparklyr part I
Fri, Nov 06 Spark & sparklyr part II
Homework 6 assigned
Week 13 Mon, Nov 09 Lab 12
Wed, Nov 11 Special topic
Fri, Nov 13 Special topic
Week 14 Mon, Nov 16 Lab 13